Dear Readers,
I regret to inform you of a murder...


About Murder in Postscript

Widowed countess Amelia Amesbury can’t wait for the afternoon post. Readers write to Lady Agony, her secret pseudonym, asking for advice on love, life, and friendship. Although Amelia’s used to fascinating tales, she’s gobsmacked when one letter writer divulges a murder.

About Mary

Mary Winters is the author of the Lady Agony Historical Mystery series, coming from Berkley in 2023. A longtime reader of Victorian fiction and an author of two other mystery series, Mary decided to write a new book set in Victorian London after taking a trip to England. Since then, she's been busily planning her next mystery—and another trip! Mary is represented by Amanda Jain at BookEnds Literary Agency.


Latest Blog Post

Welcome to Mary Winters’ Website

Welcome to Mary’s new website and her blog! Check back soon for her first post! 

Read More

About the Series

The Lady Agony Historical Mystery Series has been described as Bridgerton meets Murder She Wrote. Set in Victorian London, Murder in Postscript introduces readers to Amelia Amesbury, a countess who moonlights as an agony aunt for a penny paper. While Amelia loves her charge Winifred and her favorite aunt Tabitha, she craves the excitement of her secret persona. The public is increasingly interested in knowing the mysterious writer behind the signature: Lady Agony.